Yorkshire Functional Analysis Group

YFAG mainly meets in Leeds, but recently we have resurrected the Yorkshire theme, with meetings in York and Sheffield.

Unless otherwise stated, meetings will be in Leeds, at 3:30pm, in the room MALL 2, School of Mathematics, University of Leeds.

Seminar organizer: Matthew Daws

Spring Term, 2010

Tuesday 2nd February
Chris Good (Birmingham)
Abstract dynamical systems Abstract here.

Tuesday 9th February
School colloquium.

Tuesday 16th February
Sandra Pott (Glasgow and Paderborn, Germany)
Weak Factorization of Hardy spaces on the polydisk Abstract here
Birgit Jacob (Paderborn, Germany)
Admissibility of observation and control operators

Tuesday 23rd February
Hung Le Pham (Wellington, New Zealand)
Multi-norms and amenability Abstract here

Tuesday 2nd March in York at 4:15pm (Contact Simon Eveson for details).
Jan Cnops (Ghent, Belgium)
The Cauchy kernel on C and elsewhere and
Boundary values, boundary spinors and the Dirac operator Abstract here [PDF format]

Friday 5th March
NBFAS Meeting in Nottingham

Tuesday 16th March
Stuart White (Glasgow)
Perturbation and similarity problems in operator algebras

Tuesday 27th April
Philip Spain (Glasgow)
The Vidav-Palmer Theorem & Characterizations of Hilbert Space

Tuesday 4th May, in Sheffield at 4pm
Martin Lindsay (Lancaster)
Quantum Stochastic Integrals and Semimartingales
Contact Paul Mitchener for further information.

Tuesday 11th May
Simon Eveson (York)
Some asymptotic properties of the polylaplacian

Wednesday 2nd June, at 11am
Volker Runde (Edmonton, Canada)
Dual Banach algebras Talk supported by an LMS Scheme 2 grant.

Tuesday 10 August
Semyon Yakubovich (University of Porto,Portugal)
On the fractional Laplace equation and its fundamental solutions
For this talk, please contact Vladimir Kisil for further details.

Programme for Autumn/Winter 2010, Programme for Winter term 2009