Yorkshire Functional Analysis Group

YFAG mainly meets in Leeds, but recently we have resurrected the Yorkshire theme, with meetings in York and Sheffield.

Unless otherwise stated, meetings will be in Leeds, at 3:30pm, in the room MALL 2, School of Mathematics, University of Leeds.

Seminar organizer: Matthew Daws

Autumn/Winter Term, 2010

Tuesday 5th October
Charles Read (University of Leeds)
Approximate Amenability without a Bounded Approximate Identity

Tuesday 12th October
Tirthankar Bhattacharyya (Indian Institute of Science)
Abstract characteristic function Click for abstract

Tuesday 19th October
Richard Smith (University College Dublin)
Strictly convex norms, strange spaces and extra axioms

Tuesday 26th October (At 4pm)
Gadadhar Misra (Indian Institute of Science)
Homogeneous operators Click for abstract (PDF)

Tuesday 2nd November
Ian Short (Open University)
Conformal symmetries of planar regions

Tuesday 9th November
Vladimir Peller (Michigan State University)
Cancelled

Tuesday 16th November
Steve Power (Lancaster University)
Crystals, Zeolites and Operator Theory Click for abstract

Tuesday 23rd November (At 4pm)
Michael Brannan (Queens University, Ontario)
Free Probability and Compact Quantum Groups Click for abstract

Wednesday 24th November MALL 1, 3-4pm
Vladimir Peller (Michigan State University)
Functions of perturbed normal operators

Tuesday 7th December
Michael Dritschel (Newcastle University)
Noncommutative Positivstellensätze Click for abstract

Tuesday 14th December
Tony Lau (University of Alberta)
Power boundedness and Fourier Stieltjes algebras of a locally compact group Click for abstract

Programme for Spring term 2011, Programme for Spring term 2010